Hello Goodbye

I’ve never been good at goodbyes (in that case would you call them badbyes)? I’m better at deluded “See you laters” and just assuming that I’ll see the person soon. Goodbyes seem so final, even if in the grand scheme of things I’ll only be gone for a year and a half. So when we had a Mission Farewell party last night – eating delicious food and catching up with old family friends – the time to say goodbyes seemed surreal. In fact leaving at all seems surreal. I’m not sure it will hit me until I report to the Missionary Training Center (MTC). And to be honest I’m fairly sure the MTC will be more of a culture shock than Japan itself, so stay tuned for reactions to that whole experience.

Anyway, today marks the day of the Great Suitcase Endeavor, 2015 A.D., where I attempt to fit my entire life for the next 18 months into two 50-pound suitcases and a duffel bag. Maybe a purse too if I’m feeling bold.

Clothes and toiletries are currently strewn haphazardly across my floor and I’m procrastinating as long as possible, since there are so many things to do to prepare. Because I’ll have limited access to internet, Facebook, Skype, and most media sources, I’m trying to prepare for everything months in advance, and it’s starting to feel almost like I’m writing a will. Figuring out taxes a year in advance? Fine. Delaying scholarships for a year? Ok. Trying to figure out classes I want to take over a year from now? Well that just seems a bit excessive.

In the end it will all work out. I just have to trust that my dear parentals will be able to handle everything (I believe in you parents!).

With that,

Goodbye See you later 🙂

Leave a Reply

