All Shook Up

This week I was woken up by a level 4 earthquake. It was probably the longest consecutive one I’ve experienced, but when I realized it wasn’t serious, I fell asleep again almost immediately. 
In other news, we’ve been meeting enough deaf people that I decided I should learn at least basic Japanese sign language. My Douryou knows some and so my first lesson starts today. Wish me luck! We’ve been helping each other a lot lately in terms of pronunciation and vocabulary, although for me the struggle is knowing which accents on syllables on the same words render which meaning. For example, ‘kuma’ can mean bear or the bags under your eyes, ‘kumo’ can mean clouds or spider, and ‘hashi’ can mean bridge or chopsticks. How’s that for confusing. My douryou’s eternal struggle is pronunciation, specifically the sounds in words like “squirrel” and “girl”. Speaking of which, here’s an adorable video of her describing a comic my dad sent to me in English:

Other randomly compiled news Sent from my iPad:

The following is your Bible humor of the day, I apologize if you feel it’s sacrilegious but I’ve always thought this picture of Noah and the Ark was funny. 

  

Ok be forewarned, religious/academic theories to briefly follow: 

This week we taught a woman from India who was incredibly educated about all sorts of religions and had don’t lots of research about the books of scripture that have been published to date. She mentioned something about the Book of Enoch, which was apparently written by Enoch, the son of Noah, but wasn’t included in the Bible. She also mentioned having read about other records of Christ in other areas of the world, including Southeast Asia. So here’s my musing: in the Bible, John 10:16-17, Christ talks in an analogy about his people referring to them as sheep and to himself as their shepherd, and says he has “other sheep not of this fold.” Then, In the Book of Mormon (yes, THAT Book of Mormon. P.s. Xandra and I never got to see the musical and I still cry every day about that) it says in 3 Nephi 15:21, when Christ has visited the Americas after being resurrected, while talking the the people :
21 “And verily I say unto you, that ye are they of whom I said: Other sheep I have which are not of this fold; them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd.”
Then in chapter 16, verse one it reads:
“And verily, verily, I say unto you that I have other sheep, which are not of this land, neither of the land of Jerusalem, neither in any parts of that land round about whither I have been to minister.”
Right? So, if the other people he speaks of aren’t on the American continent, and not in Jerusalem, who knows? Maybe they were in Southeast Asia. Anyways, when I get the chance when I get back from Japan, I want to research that more because I think it’s way intriguing. Actually all religions are way intriguing. 
Ok rant over. Onward….
In other news I’ve taken on the noble task of converting my Douryou to exercise. Usually she bikes next to me when I run in the mornings but today she ran stairs with me AND she joined me in my ab workout. Afterwards she kept saying, “sugoi!” Or “amazing!” and that she actually felt really good after working out. I’ll check that off as a success. 
This past week we had a big potluck, with Yamate 山手ワード、and I got to try all sorts of new Japanese foods and play with little kids and get to know the people there better. It was a great time and I felt like I would explode afterwards! 
Finally, tips on how to know if you’re in Japan:
  

There is absolutely no blond hair coloring dye at even the biggest store in the area. Oh, and I guess the fact that the writing is in Japanese…. That could be a giveaway as well. 
And actually finally (because I already wrote finally and I’m too lazy to go back and change it), I found out there’s another girl serving in the Tokyo South area from Washington who DATED MY COUSIN A in high school!!! Yes, I mean you Andrew! So if that doesn’t prove its a small world I don’t know what does.
That’s all for now! Sorry for the complete random assortment of events. But if I did a better job I’d probably just stop doing a blog and publish a book or something. 
Love,

️Kira

スマイリー姉妹!

Leave a Reply

