Iiiiiit’s Transfer Week!

image1

This past week was a blur.  We visited all the people, talked to all the people, and in the end got quarantined inside because of a typhoon. Psh, weather.

Transfer calls were a shock. I’m staying and sister Tanimoto is going to Kamiooka. So sad. I only cried a little. It’s the first time I’ve cried about a companion transferring, so I must be getting soft. I’m starting to come to terms with the fact that I might die (read: end my
mission) here in Kawasaki. In which case I way should have gotten a member rewards card when I first got here because in about seven months I would just rack up the points at the grocery store. Unfortunate.

The Sapporo Temple was dedicated yesterday and we had the opportunity to see Elder Stevenson the apostle speak in Japanese, and hear Russell M. Nelson speak as well. The dedicatory ceremony was broadcast all over Japan.

We had zone meeting except the fact that 4 missionaries mistook the location and showed up a half hour late. So really it was like just another district meeting.

We spent a good portion of the week helping and hanging out with less-active members, all of which are near and dear to my heart.

Do you remember the guy who answered the door in boxers? Well we were nearby so laughingly we joked about actually going back like we told him we would and then before we knew it we were at his door knocking and asking ourselves “are we seriously doing this?” He answered and we talked for a long time about life goals and the Book of Mormon. He said his life goal is to earn money and that death terrifies him. And if that isn’t a good conversation starter for the restored gospel than I don’t know what is.

Saturday morning was our monthly volunteer river cleaning. But because it started pouring so hard, we had to abandon ship and go home. I’m not sure if I’ve ever been that soaked, and I didn’t even fall into the river.

Besides that, I’m just trying to reenergize and prepare myself mentally and emotionally for a new companion. When you’re the senior companion, part of your responsibility is to be the motivational one, the go-getter, the leader, always on the ball, always cheerful and positive. It can be pretty exhausting sometimes though. I love it here every day, but giving 100% daily wears you down sometimes. Today We got takeout pizza from this fancy Italian restaurant with owners from Livorno (Sabrina!). They served us grapefruit jelly while waiting for the pizza to cook in their big fire oven. Besides that, I think I’ve spent 70% of the day in bed and I’m totally alright with that. This was some well-needed R&R. I remember being transfer three and my companion just wanted to sleep on p-days; I thought she was crazy. And yet now I totally understand. Naps are heaven-sent.

That being said, I think I’m going to go to sleep.

Ciao,
Smiley Shimai

Leave a Reply

